Review: Warriors ed. by George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois

warriors

 

4 out of 5

This anthology is a collection of stories about, of course, warriors. The stories are a mix of fantasy, sci-fi, western and just about every other type of fiction there is. From hedge knights to vampires fighting aliens there’s something for every taste. The highlight of the anthology is George R.R. Martin’s novella “The Mystery Knight” which follows the exploits of the hedge knight Dunk. Fans of Martin’s Song of Fire and Ice series will enjoy being taken back in time to when the Targaryens ruled. It is difficult to review such an eclectic grouping of stories except to say that while I enjoyed some more than others there are no bad stories here. Each is well written and each looks at war and warriors from a different perspective.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: