Category Archives: Ed. by George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois

Review: Warriors ed. by George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois

warriors

 

4 out of 5

This anthology is a collection of stories about, of course, warriors. The stories are a mix of fantasy, sci-fi, western and just about every other type of fiction there is. From hedge knights to vampires fighting aliens there’s something for every taste. The highlight of the anthology is George R.R. Martin’s novella “The Mystery Knight” which follows the exploits of the hedge knight Dunk. Fans of Martin’s Song of Fire and Ice series will enjoy being taken back in time to when the Targaryens ruled. It is difficult to review such an eclectic grouping of stories except to say that while I enjoyed some more than others┬áthere are no bad stories here. Each is well written and each looks at war and warriors from a different perspective.

Advertisements